Bank Holidays 2021 – Banks will be closed for 21 days in October

Bank Holidays 2021: Banks will be closed for 21 days in October, will not be able to do their work on this day, see full list

Delhi: If you are planning to visit your bank in October and have to do any big work related to the bank then plan very carefully because the coming month will be in this month as per the mandatory list of holidays released by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). There are going to be many holidays in banks. There are a total of 21 bank holidays in the month of October.

However, most holidays are state-wise celebrations, which means banks will be closed in specific states. Except for a few days, most of these holidays apply to only a few cities and states at a time.

According to the RBI’s Bank Holidays 2021 list, out of 21 holidays in October, only 14 are holidays on account of an occasion, the other seven days are weekend holidays, which include Sundays, as well as the second and fourth Saturdays of the month.

The holidays mandated by RBI have been grouped under the categories of ‘Holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act’ and ‘Real Time Gross Settlement Holidays’ and ‘Closing Accounts of Banks’. Most of the holidays in the month of October fall under the ‘Leave under Negotiable Instruments Act’ classification.

However, October 1, the first holiday on the list falls under the classification of ‘closure of accounts of banks’, which is a holiday only for banks located in Gangtok. At the same time, 2 October is celebrated as Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. This national holiday is one of the few that is applicable to all the states and cities that RBI has put in its list of bank holidays for next month.

October 15 is the other big holiday scheduled for Durga Puja/Dussehra/Dashami (Vijaya Dashami) participation in a large number of states and the large number of states participating.

This holiday will be applicable to all banks across India except banks located in Imphal. Holidays in the month of October are as follow :

1st October – Half-yearly closure of bank accounts (Gangtok)

2nd October – Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti (all states)

6th October – Mahalaya Amavasye (Agartala, Bengaluru, Kolkata) 

7th October – Mera chauren of Laningthou Sanmahi (Imphal) Hauba

12 October – Durga Puja (Maha Saptami) / (Agartala, Kolkata) 

13 October – Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami) / (Agartala, Bhubaneshwar, Gangtok, Guwahati, Imphal, Kolkata, Patna, Ranchi) 

14 October – Durga Puja / Dussehra (Maha Navami) / Ayu Puja (Agartala, Bengaluru, Chennai, Gangtok, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi, Shillong, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram)

15 October – Durga Puja / Dussehra / Dussehra (Vijaya Dashami) / (All Banks except Imphal and Shimla)

16 October – Durga Puja (Dasain) / (Gangtok)

18 October – Kati Bihu (Guwahati)

19 October – Eid-e-Milad/ Eid-e-Mildunnabi/ Milad-e-Sharif ( Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday)/Barawafat/(Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bhopal, Chennai, Dehradun, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram) 

20 Oct Tubar – Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/Lakshmi Puja/Eid-e-Milad (Agartala, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Shimla) 

22 October – Friday after Eid-e-Milad-ul-Nabi (Jammu, Srinagar) 

26 October – Accession Day (Jammu, Srinagar)

FOLLOW US ON – Telegram, Twitter, Facebook, and Google News

Leave a Comment